Maine law states at what age minors may work in specific industries. Minimum ages under Federal law are different. Contact the U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division at 780-3344 (Portland) or 945-0330 (Bangor) for details.
Students aged 14-15 need to apply for a work permit.
Students aged 16 and older do not need a permit.
Process to Obtain a Work Permit
• The parent or legal guardian needs to go to the Superintendent’s Office, 14 Shaker Road,
Gray, ME (the student does not need to be present).
• The parent needs to bring the student’s birth certificate or social security number as well
as a copy of the student’s most current rank card.
• The name, address, and phone number of where the student will be working is
needed. Once the permit is completed, it is faxed to the Department of Labor in Augusta
• The Department of Labor will email it back to the Superintendent’s Office. One copy is
kept at the Superintendent’s Office; the other copy will be mailed to the student to take to
his/her employer. This process generally takes 2-4 business days.
• If the student changes jobs, he/she needs to apply for another work permit until he/she
reaches 16 years of age.
State of Maine Work Permit
Updated October 22, 2018